My 30-day Personal Revolution

I’m a procrastinator. Not in my fast-paced professional life (where I work hard), but in my quiet, personal life (where I suck). I have a cyclical pattern now of putting off as many things as possible at home. So much so, that nothing seems important or urgent…until it is. Like this Nike ad, if I started doing these things back when I thought about it I’d be done by now. I need structure. I need fulfillment.  I need a finish line paid for in sweat, courage, and determination.

Lately, I’ve had an opportunity to immerse myself in some stellar experiences with the most unbelievable people. I’ve participated in some (confidential) mind blowing work in the office. I’ve been fortunate to hang with the cool kids at industry events and after-hour drinks. These gatherings influence and inspire me to make my life – and my world – a better place.

For me, that begins with making a 30-day bucket list to attack and maintain over the next month. My hope is to create a personal habit and a building block from which to shape success. I know I have built in a group of personal supports, so the virtual love is not going to be a problem, its how I behave when I am alone…without anyone watching. I desire to make a change and close the gap between my personal and professional lives – and that’s what’s going to happen. So, here goes…

10 commitments:

  1. Consistently eat a balanced daily breakfast – fruit, oatmeal, bran, yogurt
  2. Call someone different each week to discuss work & personal life aspirations & goals
  3. Write 2 handwritten cards a week and mail them
  4. Cycle and/or run at least 25 miles per week
  5. Look for opportunities to network inside and out of my company, industry, and comfort zone
  6. Spend 30 minutes a day on social networking sites
  7. Volunteer for 1 hour of community service each month
  8. Plan at least 4 active workouts per week in the gym
  9. Read a new blog weekly; drop one that isn’t working
  10. Be the change I want to see in the world

These may not be big ticket items to some, but for me, they will help keep me on track. Some of these I may change after 30 days, while others will become a part of my routine. I’m looking forward to seeing which one’s stick – knowing some will be a real challenge. Every moment of every day gives you an opportunity, an opportunity to make a small shift. What are some of the shifts you would like to make? Please share in the comments

2 thoughts on “My 30-day Personal Revolution

Leave a comment